Te Waananga Auturoa

1. Te Waananga Auturoa is divided into three branches;

Te Kauwae Runga.

Te Kauwae Raro.

Te Whare Maire.

2. All three branches contain the following teachings:

Uruuru Matua – The teachings of Te Poo me Te Raa.

Uruuru Tipua – The teachings of karakia, and rituals.

Uruuru Tawhito – The teachings of the Arts and Humanities.

3. All teachings delivered are extracted from the three Kete of knowledge:

Kete Aronui – Basket of Te Ritenga

Kete Tu Atea – Basket of Te Raa

Kete Tu Auri – Basket of Te Poo

Completion of the Waananga curriculum shall be deemed complete when one has entered into, participated and graduated from each of the seven learning houses which constitute the Waananga.

The houses are metaphors for a grading system based upon levels of consciousness.

There are seven grades one must pass to become a graduate of Te Waananga Oo Ngaa Atua Marire.

4. The houses are divided amongst the three branches of teaching:

i) Kauwae Raro:

1°=7▫ Te Raa (Kete Raaururangi)

2°=6▫ Te Marama (Kete Kauhanga)

3°=5▫ Mere Mere (Tawera)

ii) Whare Maire :

4°=4▫ Mata Whare (Matawhero)

5°=3▫ Whiro (Whiro)

iii) Kauwae Runga:

6°=2▫ Parearau (Pareaarau)

7°= 1▫ Kopunui (Koopuunui)

5. The teachings of Kauwae Raro are as follow;

1°=7▫ Racial law /lore, Iwi law /lore, Hapu law /lore, Whanau law /lore, Personal law /lore.

2°=6▫ The ancient wars, The migrations from the home land, Tribal traditions, myths and legends.

3°=5▫ Whakapapa, Traditional arts and crafts.

All teachings commence at the suns zenith until sunset.

6. The teaching of the Whare Maire are as follow;

4°=4▫ Tuumatarau Kaupapa.

5°=3▫ Tuumatarau Tikanga.

All teachings commence at sunset until sunrise.

7. The teachings of the Kauwae Runga are as follows;

6°=2▫ Ngaa Atua, Ranginui, Papatuuaanuku, Tangaroa, Tawhirimatea, Higher principles of Kete Tu Atea, Tu Auri and Kete Aronui.

7°=1▫ All ceremonials concerning Te Poo me Te Raa, Preservation of spiritual, intellectual and physical welfare.

All teachings commence at sunrise until the suns zenith.

8. Each grade is delivered through house lectures and where deemed necessary, tasks will be given to accomplish.

All students must attend their house lectures and complete all tasks given during the term in which their grade is delivered.

At the terms completion students will be tested for competency within their grade and house.

Those whom are deemed competent will be given all the tokens of attainment appropriate to the house graduated.

9. The Waananga begins at sunrise upon the first new moon in April.

The Waananga ends upon sunset of the first new Moon in February.

Therefore a learning rotation consists of eleven months totaling three hundred and thirty days.

© Copyright 2007-2020 Auturoa - All Rights Reserved.